Sponsors Welcome Additions

The Bulletin welcomed Lisa Randall, professor of physics at Harvard University, and Brian Greene, professor of mathematics and physics at Columbia University, to its board of sponsors in late 2006.

The advisory group was founded by Albert Einstein and first led by J. Robert Oppenheimer. It is now headed by Leon Lederman, the 1988 Nobel Laureate in physics and former director of the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory. Lederman is among 18 Nobel Laureates on the 47-member board.

Earlier in 2006, the Sponsors also welcomed Stephen Hawking, best-selling author and Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at the University of Cambridge, and Lawrence Krauss, the Ambrose Swasey Professor of Physics at Case Western Reserve University.

Randall earned her PhD at Harvard. She is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a fellow of the American Physical Society, and a past winner of an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship.

Greene received his PhD at Oxford University, At Columbia, he also serves as joint director of the Institute for Strings, Cosmology, and Astroparticle Physics (ISCAP). He was awarded the Aventis Prize for Science Books in 2000.