Press Releases

22 April 2008

A new analysis by George N. Lewis and Theodore A. Postol in the May/June 2008 Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists reveals that the configuration of the proposed U.S. missile defense system in Europe will not adequately protect the continental United States or Europe against the postulated threat--an Iranian ballistic missile equipped with a nuclear warhead.

21 April 2008

Bulletin online columnist Pavel Podvig, member of the Bulletin's Science and Security Board and research associate at Stanford University's Center for International Security and Cooperation, received the Leo Szilard Lectureship Award from the American Physical Society at its April meeting in St. Louis.

11 April 2008

Blythe J. McGarvie, founder and president of Leadership for International Finance LLC (LIF), has joined the Governing Board of the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, effective June 2008.

11 April 2008

The Bulletin has selected Stephen Sapienza, senior producer of Foreign Exchange with Daljit Dhaliwal, as the second recipient of its Ruth Adams Award for Journalists in Peace and Security.

1 May 2007

The American Society of Magazine Editors presented the 2007 National Magazine Award for General Excellence (under 100,000 circulation) to the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists at the 42nd annual award ceremony in New York City on May 1.

17 January 2007

On January 17, 2007, the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists moved the minute hand of the Doomsday Clock two minutes closer to midnight. It is now 5 minutes to midnight. Reflecting global failures to solve the problems posed by nuclear weapons and the climate crisis, the decision by the Bulletin's Board of Directors was made in consultation with the Bulletin's Board of Sponsors, which includes 18 Nobel Laureates.

12 January 2007

The Bulletin welcomed Lisa Randall, professor of physics at Harvard University, and Brian Greene, professor of mathematics and physics at Columbia University, to its board of sponsors in late 2006.

11 January 2007

Former Ambassador Thomas R. Pickering, co-chair of the International Crisis Group, and Jay Harris, publisher of Mother Jones magazine and chief executive of its not-for-profit parent, the Foundation for National Progress, joined the Bulletin’s Board of Directors in late 2006.