Thanks & 2019 Annual Dinner and Meeting highlights

By | November 15, 2019

Thank You!

The Bulletin is immensely grateful for the scientists, policymakers, artists, community leaders, board members, donors, and concerned citizens who made our 2019 Annual Dinner & Meeting a resounding success!

The Annual Dinner featured an all-star lineup, with inspiring words that brought the audience to its feet from Rieser Award recipients Erin Connolly and Kate Hewitt. Acceptance remarks from honorees Austin Hirsch and Lowell Sachnoff were equally inspiring, as these remarkable men recounted the Cold War experiences that led them to devote decades of energy and resources to the Bulletin and its mission.

Jerry Brown’s presentation of the lifetime achievement award and its acceptance by Lisa Perry on behalf of grandfather Bill Perry was a touching reminder of how the work of the Bulletin is supported and furthered each year by new generations who are acutely aware of the need to turn back the Clock.A keynote address from Eric Horvitz, technical fellow and director of Microsoft Research Labs, capped off the evening with an intriguing look at the ethics of artificial intelligence.

Watch the videos:

Erin Connolly and Kate Hewitt, 2018 Rieser Award Recipients
Austin Hirsch and Lowell Sachnoff, 2019 honorees
Lisa Perry on behalf of Bill Perry, Lifetime Achievement Awardee
Eric Horvitz, Keynote address
Pre-Dinner interview with honorees Austin Hirsch and Lowell Sachnoff

Guests also delighted in the virtual exhibit premiere of Turn Back the Clock, which was originally created in partnership with the Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago and was on view there from May, 2017 to June, 2019.

Carnegie Corporation of New York • Holthues Trust • John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation • Ploughshares Fund • Reed Smith LLP

Anonymous • Axiom Consulting Partners • William and Eleanor Revelle • Paul Sievert & Penelope Rosemont • Sisyphus Supporting Foundation • The University of Chicago’s Harris School of Public Policy

Jenny and Greg Baldwin • The Crown Family • Lee Francis and Michelle Gittler • Invenergy LLC • Robert & Eleanor Levin Meyers • Mr. and Mrs. William S. Woodson III

Susan and Stephen Baird Foundation • John and Carol Balkcom • Alvin H. Baum Family Fund • Marjorie Craig Benton • The Greenspon Family • David Kuhlman and Martha Esch • Phil Kurschner • Debra Petrides Lyons • Steve Ramsey and Ann Jones • Richard and Ellen Sandor Family Foundation • Wintrust Commercial Banking

Ethan and Elizabeth Bensinger • Mary Patricia Dougherty • Melissa Sage Fadim and Jamey Fadim • Kendal and Ken Gladish • Candy Lee • Fay Hartog Levin and Daniel Levin • John and Trish Strauss • Lisa Warshauer

Together, we make the world safer.

The Bulletin elevates expert voices above the noise. But as an independent nonprofit organization, our operations depend on the support of readers like you. Help us continue to deliver quality journalism that holds leaders accountable. Your support of our work at any level is important. In return, we promise our coverage will be understandable, influential, vigilant, solution-oriented, and fair-minded. Together we can make a difference.

Topics: Uncategorized

Get alerts about this thread
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments