Science and Security Board

Lynn EdenLynn Eden (Co-Chair)

A senior research scholar and associate director for research at Stanford Univeristy’s Center for International Security and Cooperation. Eden is also co-chair of U.S. Pugwash and a member of the International Pugwash Council. Her scholarly work focuses on the military and society, and nuclear weapons history and policy, including nuclear abolition. Eden’s Whole World on Fire: Organizations, Knowledge, and Nuclear Weapons Devastation won the American Sociological Association’s 2004 Robert K. Merton award for best book in science and technology studies.

Rod EwingRod Ewing

Ewing is the Frank Stanton Profesor in Nuclear Security in the Center for International Security and Cooperation in the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies and a Professor in the Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences in the School of Earth Sciences at Stanfort University. Ewing’s research focuses on the back end of the nuclear fuel cycle, mainly nuclear materials and the geochemistry of radionuclides. He is the past president of the International Union of Materials Research Societies. Ewing has written extensively on issues related to nuclear waste management and is co-editor of Radioactive Waste Forms for the Future and Uncertainty Underground: Yucca Mountain and the Nation’s High-Level Nuclear Waste. He received the Lomonosov Medal of the Russian Academy of Sciences in 2006. He was recently appointed by President Barack Obama to chair the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board.

James HansenJames Hansen

Hansen was director of the NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies. He is a professor of earth and environmental studies at Columbia University. His current research areas include radiative transfer in planetary atmospheres, modeling current climate trends, and projecting humans' potential impact on climate. He publishes prolifically and has won many awards, including the 2007 Leo Szilard Lectureship Award from the American Physical Society.

Sivan Kartha

Kartha is a Senior Scientist at the Stockholm Environment Institute and Co-leader of an institute-wide theme Managing Climate Risks. His research and publications for the past fifteen years have focused on technological options and policy strategies for addressing climate change, and he has concentrated most recently on equity and efficiency in the design of an international climate regime. Kartha also works on mitigation scenarios, market mechanisms for climate actions, and the environmental and socioeconomic impacts of biomass energy. His work has enabled him to advise and collaborate with diverse organizations, including the UNFCCC Secretariat, various United Nations and World Bank programs, numerous government policy-making bodies and agencies, foundations, and civil society organizations throughout the developing and industrialized world. He is currently serving as a Coordinating Lead Author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

Edward "Rocky" KolbEdward "Rocky" Kolb

The Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics at the University of Chicago, Kolb also serves as chair of the university's Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics. His research deals with the application of fundamental physics--in particular, particle physics and general relativity--to the very early universe. He is a member of the Enrico Fermi Institute and the Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics.

Lawrence KraussLawrence Krauss

Krauss is the inaugural director of the Origins Initiative at Arizona State University and foundation professor at ASU's School of Earth and Space Exploration and Physics Department. In addition to writing the best-seller, The Physics of Star Trek, Krauss has written six other books, including Fear of Physics and the science epic Atom: An Odyssey from the Big Bang to Life on Earth…and Beyond. He also frequently writes commentary for New Scientist magazine.

Leon LedermanLeon Lederman

An internationally renowned high-energy physicist, Lederman is director emeritus of Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory in Batavia, Illinois, and holds an appointment as the Pritzker Professor of Science at the Illinois Institute of Technology. Among his many honors are the Nobel Prize in Physics, the National Medal of Science, and the Enrico Fermi Prize awarded by President Bill Clinton.

Ramamurti "Doug" RajaramanRamamurti "Doug" Rajaraman

Rajaraman is an emeritus professor of physics at Jawaharlal Nehru University and a co-chair of the International Panel on Fissile Materials. His research areas include particle physics, quantum field theory, and solitons. He has written about fissile material production in India and Pakistan and the radiological effects of nuclear weapon accidents.

M. V. RamanaM. V. Ramana

A physicist, Ramana is currently appointed jointly with the Nuclear Futures Laboratory and the Program on Science and Global Security, both at the Princeton University, and works on the future of nuclear energy in the context of climate change and nuclear disarmament. In December 2012 Ramana published a book entitled The Power of Promise: Examining Nuclear Energy in India. He is a member of the International Panel on Fissile Materials.

Robert RosnerRobert Rosner (Co-Chair)

Rosner is the William E. Wrather Distinguished Service Professor in the departments of Astronomy and Astrophysics and Physics at the University of Chicago. Rosner recently stepped down as Director of Argonne National Laboratory, where he had also served as Chief Scientist. His research is mostly in the areas of plasma astrophysics and astrophysical fluid dynamics and magnetohydrodynamics (including especially solar and stellar magnetic fields); high energy density physics; boundary mixing instabilities; combustion modeling; applications of stochastic differential equations and optimization problems; and inverse methods

Jennifer SimsJennifer Sims

Sims is currently a senior fellow at the Chicago Council on Global Affairs and is writing a book on intelligence in international politics. She is also a consultant on intelligence and homeland security for private corporations and the US government. In 2008, the president of the United States appointed her to the Public Interest Declassification Board, which advises the president on the declassification policies of the US government.  Sims received her MA and her PhD from Johns Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies. In 1998, Sims received the intelligence community’s highest civilian award, the National Distinguished Service Medal.

Richard SomervilleRichard Somerville

Somerville is Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Research Professor at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego. His research is focused on critical physical processes in the climate system, especially the role of clouds and the important feedbacks that can occur as clouds change with a changing climate. His broader interests include all aspects of climate, including climate science outreach and the interface between science and public policy. He was a Coordinating Lead Author of the Fourth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). The IPCC shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize equally with Al Gore.

Elizabeth WilsonElizabeth Wilson

Wilson is an Associate Professor of Energy and Environmental Policy and Law at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota. Her research examines policies and institutions supporting development of carbon-managed energy systems. She holds a doctorate in Engineering and Public Policy from Carnegie Mellon University and was selected as a Leopold Leadership Fellow in 2011.